Titanic

Consult your school’s Library Catalogue to check availability of these books:

transp1 Titanic

Fiction

TitanicFiction e1330962798834 Titanic
  • Deadly Voyage: RMS Titanic (from the series I am Canada) by Hugh Brewster
  • Distant Waves: a novel of the Titanic by Suzanne Weyn
  • Ghosts of the Titanic by Julie Lawson (2012 Silver Birch fiction nominee)
  • Polar, the Titanic Bear by Daisy Speddon
  • The Sinking of the Titanic, 1912 (from the series I Survived) by Lauren Tarshis
  • SOS Titanic by Eve Bunting
  • SOS! Titanic (from the series Canadian Flyer Adventures) by Frieda Wishinsky
  • That Fatal Night: the Titanic Diary of Dorothy Wilton (from the series Dear Canada) by Sarah Ellis
  • Titanic Crossing by Barbara Williams
  • Titanic: the Long Night by Diane Hoh
  • Tonight on the Titanic (from the series Magic Tree House) by Mary Pope Osborne
  • Unsinkable (Book 1 from the series Titanic) by Gordon Korman (Book 2 – Collision Course & Book 3 – S.O.S.)
  • Virtual Zone: Titanic’s Race to Disaster! by Lynda Wilson (2002 Silver Birch fiction nominee)
  • White Star: a Dog on the Titanic by Marty Crisp
TitanicNonFiction Titanic

Non-Fiction

transp1 Titanic

  • 882 ½ Amazing Answers to Your Questions about the Titanic by Hugh Brewster
  • Exploring the Titanic by Robert D. Ballard
  • Finding the Titanic by Robert D. Ballard
  • On Board the Titanic: What It Was Like When the Great Liner Sank (from the series I Was There) by Shelley Tanaka
  • The Sinking of the Titanic (from the series Graphic Library: Graphic History) by Matt Doeden
  • Titanic (from the series Eyewitness Books) by Simon Adams
  • Titanic (from the series Magic Tree House Research Guide) by Will Osborne

Coming in Spring 2012… Titanic: Disaster at Sea by Philip Wilkinson

 

Resources from the Virtual Library

VirtualLibButton Titanic

Elementary Students
Get the Facts!
Reference sources for factual information and overview of the topic.
Virtual Library Elementary Resources
TheCanEn2 Titanic
Search Terms->
Titanic, Sinking of the Titanic
grolier Titanic
Search Term->
Titanic
transp1 Titanic
See the bigger picture.
In-depth resources, expert opinion, analysis.
Virtual Library Elementary Resources
canada in context sm1 Titanic
Search Term-> Titanic
kids infobits lg Titanic
Search Term->Titanic Sinking, 1912
transp1 Titanic

Focus on current events.

Newspaper, magazine & journal articles.
Virtual Library Elementary Resources
kidssearch200 Titanic
Search Term-> Titanic
infotrac junior lg Titanic
Search Term-> Titanic Sinking, 1912
searchasaurus200 Titanic
Search Term-> Titanic (Best source for magazine articles for primary students!)
transp1 Titanic
Secondary Students
Get the Facts!
Reference sources for factual information and overview of the topic.
Virtual Library Secondary Reference
TheCanEn2 Titanic
Search Terms-> Titanic, Sinking of the Titanic
crc100 Titanic
Search Term-> Titanic
gfx m student logo Titanic
Search Term-> Titanic
transp1 Titanic
See the bigger picture.
In-depth resources, multimedia, expert opinion, analysis. Newspaper, magazine & journal articles.
Virtual Library Secondary One-Stop
canada in context sm Titanic
Search Term-> Titanic
globalissues lg Titanic
Search Term-> Titanic (Ship)
transp1 Titanic
Current events & opinions.
Newspaper, magazine & journal articles.
Virtual Library Secondary One-Stop
canstudresctr100 Titanic
Search Term-> Titanic (Steamship)
cpiq canadian periodicals lg Titanic
Search Term-> Titanic
transp1 Titanic
Historical focus.
Reference, biography, periodicals.
Virtual Library Secondary By Subject
hrc200 Titanic
Search Term-> Titanic 

 

eVideo

Centralized Instructional Resources (CIR):

snap200 Titanic
Search CIR for titles related to Titanic. (Remember to check CIR video descriptions for grade level, length, and publication details.)
Selected Video:

  • Secrets of the Titanic (1986 – VHS 115557): Highlights the century’s most celebrated underwater expedition, the exploration of the Titanic.
transp1 Titanic

Learn 360:

Learn360 Titanic
Remember…you can access Learn360 directly from the Library Learning Commons. Select eVideo and click on Learn360.
transp1 Titanic
You can type various search term(s) into the search field and create your own personalized playlist. Further refine your search by selecting grade levels and subject areas and related search terms such as “Canada”.
transp1 Titanic
Some recommended videos:
  • Titanic: The Titanic is an iconic piece of history, which was the largest moving object ever built by mankind at its time. (Grades 3-12)
Titanic360A Titanic
  • Titanic’s Achilles Heel: Parts One and Two: Did Titanic have a fatal design flaw? This was the question naval architect Roger Long posed after Deep Sea Detectives John Chatterton and Richie Kohler discovered new evidence at Titanic’s grave in 2005. (Grades 6-12)
Titanic360B Titanic
  • Titanic’s Final Moments: Missing Pieces: The hosts of Deep Sea Detectivesdiscover new evidence about the fate of the fabled liner. (Grades 6-12)
Titanic360C Titanic
  • Titanic Tech: Get an up-close look at the features that led the Titanic to be billed as “unsinkable,” and find out why they failed. (Grades 6-12)
Titanic360D Titanic
  • The Titanic: Find out how scientists discovered the Titanic and what they know from exploring the wreckage. (Grades JK-5)
Titanic360E Titanic

National Film Board:

NFB Titanic
  • Buried at Sea (2006): This documentary takes us on a journey to discover some of the most dangerous dump sites. The oceans are vast and unknown; it took almost 90 years to find the wreck of the Titanic. Finding weapons lying underwater will prove infinitely harder – and far more urgent, since the health of marine species and coastal communities is at risk.

 

Online Resources

transp1 Titanic Titanic image Titanic Image Credit: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Titanic.jpg
Encyclopedia Britannica Exhibit on the Titanic
http://www.britannica.com/titanic/
The encyclopedia’s exhibit features many period photos and captions.

Titanic Stories
http://www.the-titanic.com/Home.aspx
This is the official web site of the Titanic and its Home in Belfast, Northern Ireland

Encyclopedia Titanica
http://www.encyclopedia-titanica.org/
Extensive collection of information about the disaster from a community of contributors.

RMS Titanic, Inc.
http://www.rmstitanic.net/
The official site of the company providing stewardship for the Titanic ship wreck site and associated artifacts.

Titanic in Nova Scotia
http://titanic.gov.ns.ca/
The official N.S. government site chronicles the history of the Titanic in Nova Scotia, where many victims of the disaster are buried.

PBS Lost Liners
http://www.pbs.org/lostliners/
Dr. Bob Ballard tours the greatest lost liners in maritime history: Titanic, Lusitania, Empress of Ireland, Britannic, Andrea Doria

History Channel’s Titanic Interactive Timeline
http://www.history.com/interactives/titanic-interactive
Engaging interactive multimedia exhibit about the disaster.

Wikipedia: RMS Titanic
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RMS_Titanic
Exhaustive exploration of the topic from an international community of Titanic aficionados.

Titanic Inquiry
http://www.titanicinquiry.org/
Extensive collection of digitized documents from the original inquiries into the disaster.

BBC History
http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/british/britain_wwone/titanic_01.shtml
This brief article debunks some popular myths about the Titanic.

National Geographic Kids-News Bites
http://kidsblogs.nationalgeographic.com/kidsnews/2010/09/new-titanic-pictures.html
This link features photos of the wreck taken in 2010 and a link to an interview with explorer Bob Ballard.

Public Domain Images

The following sites link you to collections of images about the Titanic that are in the public domain. Because they are in the public domain you may use them for your own projects. However, you must cite your source – the institution holding the image in its collection.

Learn more about copyright.

Flickr: The Commons http://www.flickr.com/search/?w=commons&q=Titanic 
Images shared by major international museums, archives and libraries.


Wikimedia Commons Titanic Gallery http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/RMS_Titanic 
Images shared by contributors to the Wikimedia project.

transp1 Titanic